Thursday, February 25, 2010

Blah!

That's how I feel.

It's been a boring, lazy, turd of a week.

No workouts.

No running.

No nuthin.

Just eat, sleep, work.

I worked at my new job Monday night and don't work again until tomorrow night. And I've used that as an excuse to be a bum all week.

I've been slacking on my training like whoa. I HAVE to get my tempo run in tonight after work - I can no longer put it off because I have to do my long run on Saturday and I need at least one rest day in between (that would be tomorrow). I was supposed to do the tempo run Tuesday morning, but that didn't happen. Why? Because I'm a lazy bum. I swear I've put on 10 lbs this week.

I'm still bummed I didn't get my long run in last weekend because this week I bump up to 7 miles. I just seriously didn't have the energy.

Plus, I've had no desire to run. None whatsoever. If I hadn't paid to run in this half-marathon already, I'd probably be crapping out on it. I've pretty much lost all interest in it. I've realized that is just another self-inflicted stress I've put on myself. Argh. Why do I do these things to myself??

I don't think I'll be doing another half after this one. And if I mention that I'm considering another one, or worse yet - a FULL marathon - remind me of this post. Tell me I'm losing my mind and that, three weeks into the training, I'm going to want out.

I'm just sick of obsessing over it - which I unfortunatly do about everything in my life. Its pretty much consuming me. If I spent half the energy I use worrying about the stupid thing, I wouldn't have missed my past two runs (well, technically I've only missed one, if I actually do my run tonight). Oy.

Not to mention, I've had this nagging headache for about a week and a half, now. Every time I make up my mind of when I'm going to fit my run in, the time comes around and my head hurts so bad it hurts to blink. How in the heck am I supposed to run for an hour?!

Today is a prime example. I was going to run this morning but I had heartburn when I woke up, that was lingering from last night. Have you ever tried to run with heartburn? Not. Fun. So, I decided to run tonight. Cool beans, right? Well, as my day has progressed, I've developed a headache that, although I've taken two extra strength excedrins so that I can get my run in later, has not gotten better. In fact, I'm starting to get dizzy. Not. Cool. Can I please just lay down for a while and close my eyes? That's all I want to do.

My body is doing everythign it can to keep me from running because it knows how bad I don't want to run. I know, I know - you're probably going to tell me its all in my head. Well, maybe it is. Myself is telling myself how much of a dork I am for doing this to myself. ~sigh~ Is the half over with yet?? Cuz I'm over it. I'm kicking myself now for telling everybody about it...

If you had completely lost interest in something, would you keep torturing yourself over it or just move on??

Sorry for being such a Debbie Downer today but that's been my mood lately. I think that I'm going to start blaming all the bloody snow we've got. And we're supposed to get another doozy this weekend. Fabulous. All I want is blue skies and green grass and warm enough temps to run outside. Is that so much to ask for? The birds don't even have to be chirping if they don't want to...

Well, I'll stop whining and moaning. (for now) Hope everyone else is having a better day. (there I go with my fan club again!)

Until next time...

-Lacey

Hopefully I'll have a run or two to talk about next time...

No comments:

I'm alive! I swear!

Yes, I'm here! I swear I'm here! I've had about a kazillion things going on and haven't had the time to blog. I've k...