Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Is it nap time yet?

Alright, so I was completely worthless yesterday.


Although I somehow managed to get through my morning workout, the rest of the day was a challenge.



I did the same routine as last Monday but was able to improve on my weights for most of the circuits.


Here's how I did:
(3 sets of 15 reps each) the stuff in red is what I did last Monday...
Circuit 1
Modified Push-ups - 5/5/10 (yeah! I did 10 reps at the end! woo hoo!) (5/5/5)
Hack Squats - 15/15/15 (15/15/12)


Circuit 2
DB Chest Press - 7.5/7.5/12.5 (7.5/7.5/7.5)
DB Flys - 7.5/7.5/7.5 (same)
Sumo Squats - no weights used on this one (same)


Circuit 3
Tricep Bench Dips - no weights used (same)
Leg Extensions - 80/90/100 (80/70/80)


Circuit 4
DB Lateral Raise - 6/6/6 (6/6/5)
Basic Crunches


Circuit 5
DB Tricep Exensions - 1-12lb weight each set (1-10 lb weight)
Scissors - 30 reps each set


Cardio - 10 min @ 5.5 with strong finish. Distance = .93
(didn't log previous distance)


So at least i improved.


The part I'm frustrated with, however, is that I'm following my menu pretty much to the "T" (I had half a banana last night while waiting for dinner to get done and then one this morning on my way to work - but other than that, i've done really well) BUT the scale is not budging. Grr. I've significantly increased my activity level from what it was when I was sick the entire month of November but I'm not losing anything! I thought that I at least had a pound or two of water weight to get rid of... Ugh.


I've been going back and forth about whether or not I want to keep up with the weight watchers plan. I'm not saying I'm going to quit all together, I just need something new.


fyi - for those who may not know me, I can't keep my furniture in one place for very long. I get bored with the layout and make my poor hubby move it all around for me till I'm satisfied. I want to get a tattoo but considering how I am with the furniture, I'm nervous to get something so permanant. haha


I've started reading a book that was recommended by one of the bloggers I follow. Its "The Complete Beck Diet for Life" by Dr. Judith Beck. It's a totally different approach to eating than what weight watchers preaches. It addresses the mental aspect as well. I've already seen it have an affect on my eating choices - particularly my "unplanned" eating. (i.e. the stuff you mindlessly munch on during the day that you hadn't accounted for in your menu plan)


One of the things that Dr. Beck stresses is that diets lower than 1600 calories a day just can't be maintained for a long period of time. Well, I've been trying to restrict myself to a 1,050 calorie diet since March of 2008. (This is what Weight Watchers says I should be at to continue losing weight.)


She has this formula you do that calculates how many calories you need in a day and then you subtract 200 from the total to effectively lose about a pound a week. Anything less that 1600 needs to be discussed with your dr.


Well, when I first started losing weight, I had gone to see my doctor and he put me on a 1300 calorie diet - which is still lower than the 1600 but much better than 1050! I'm wondering if I'm just not eating enough calories and my body is going into starvation mode, thus my lack of weight loss. A few of the women at weight watchers, who know that I'm really getting frustrated with the program, have mentioned that as well. In fact, January of this year, I reached my "goal" weight (goal according to weight watchers so i didn't have to pay every week) but I still had 10 more pounds I wanted to lose. Well, now I have 15 pounds to lose to get at my all-mighty 135. Yup, although I've still been trying to lose, I've instead gained 5 pounds since January. Talk about making your blood boil.


Well, I'm just rambling now. My boss just got in so I better close things up. I was so exhausted last night after I got home from the oil change i had planned right after work that it took everything in me just to make dinner. I was going to post last night but just didn't have the energy. I think the Polar Express thing really wore me out - great, i have two shifts next weekend. Oh boy.


Well, until next time...


-Lacey

No comments:

I'm alive! I swear!

Yes, I'm here! I swear I'm here! I've had about a kazillion things going on and haven't had the time to blog. I've k...